El partisano

When they poured across the border
I was cautioned to surrender
This I could not do
I took my gun,
and vanished

I’ve changed my name so often
I lost my wife and children
but I’ve many friends
and some of them
are with me

An old woman gave us shelter
Kept us hidden in the garret
Then the soldiers came
She died without a whisper

There was three of us this morning
I’m the only one this evening
But I must go on
The frontier is not my prison

The wind, the wind is blowing
Through the graves the wind is blowing
Freedom soon will come
Then we’ll come from the shadow

Responder

